Skip to main content

Topology, Algebra, Analysis and Geometry (TAAG)

Section members at Topology, Algebra, Analysis and Geometry (TAAG)

Our group conducts research within a broad spectrum of pure mathematics, with particular emphasis on the theory related to quantum phenomena.  Research in pure mathematics forms the theoretical framework within which we can build models to better understand the world around us, and  new mathematical developments are therefore paramount for our ability to unravel the mysteries of the universe as well as for  further technological advances. At the moment, phenomena taking place at the quantum scale  are still missing a satisfactory mathematical underpinning, and our research group is investigating numerous different aspects of this overarching problem. Among our main fields of expertise are quantum topology,   moduli space theory, operator algebras, geometric quantization, cluster algebras, non-commutative geometry and symplectic geometry. Our research is currently funded via the ERC Synergy Grant ReNewQuantum as well as several research grants from the Independent Research Fund Denmark, Novo Nordisk Foundation,  Danish National Research Foundation.

Section members

Jørgen Ellegaard Andersen, professor, head of Center for Quantum Mathematics, D-IAS Chair
David Kyed, professor, head of TAAG section
Jeong Hee Hong, professor
Vivek Shende, professor
Wojciech Szymanski, professor
Du Pei, associate professor
Jens Kaad, associate professor
Jamie Gabe, associate professor
Fabian Haiden, assistant professor
Kristin Courtney, assistant professor
Nadia Ott, assistant professor
Shan Shan, assistant professor
Alexei Latyntsev, postdoc
Bingyu Zhang, postdoc
Adrian Petr, postdoc
Alistair Miller, postdoc
Are Austad, postdoc
Daria Polydarya, postdoc
Gard Olav Helle, postdoc
Greyson Potter, postdoc
Guillem Cazassus, postdoc
Guillermo Bajaras Ayuso, postdoc
Ikshu Neithalath, postdoc
Konstantin Wernli, postdoc
Muyang Liu, postdoc
Nezhla Aghaei, postdoc
William Elbæk Mistegård, postdoc
William Olsen, postdoc
Ben Bouwen, PhD
Calvin Pfeifer, PhD
Joël Beimler, PhD
Max Holst Mikkelsen, PhD
Santiago Quintero de los Rios, PhD
Tim Henke, PhD
Yuki Matsubara, PhD
Zhongyu Zhang, PhD
Jane Jamshidi, centre administrator

External funding and ongoing projects

VILLUM Young Investigator, New invariants in low-dimensional topology via quantum field theory, 2022-2027, DKK 6 million, D. Pei (PI).

Simons Collaboration grant, New structures in Low-dimensional topology, 2022-2026, USD 8 million, J.E. Andersen (PI) in collaboration with several Ivy League universities in the USA.

VILLUM Investigator, Mathematics of the topological open string, 2021-2027, DKK 25 million, V. Shende (PI)

NOVO Starting Package Applications of knot invariants/microlocal sheaf theory in macromolecular folding/topological data analysis applicable to biomedicine, 2021-2025, DKK 6 million, V. Shende (PI)

DNRF Chair for Vivek Shende, 2021-2024, DKK 8 million, V. Shende (PI)

EU-ERC Synergy Grant, 'Recursive and Exact New Quantum Theory (ReNewQuantum), 2019-2025, EUR 10 million, J.E. Andersen (PI) in collaboration with Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques, University of Geneva & Institut de Physique Théorique, CEA Saclay.

DFF-Research Project 1, Classical and Quantum Distances, 2019-2022, DKK 2,3 million, D. Kyed (PI) and J. Kaad (co-PI).

DFF-Research Project 2, Automorphisms and invariants of operator algebras, 2017-2021, DKK 5,5 million, W. Szymanski (PI), D. Kyed (AI), J. Kaad (AI), in collaboration with Copenhagen University and Aarhus University.


Contact person

David Kyed

Nyhed: Simons Foundation-bevilling til Jørgen Ellegaard Andersen

Læs mere

Nyhed: Carlsberg-bevilling til Sophie Emma Mikkelsen

Læs mere

Nyhed: Sapere Aude bevilling til Jamie Gabe

Læs mere

Nyhed: Bevilling til OP-ALG-gruppen

Læs mere

Nyhed: Stor million-bevilling til Vivek Shende

Læs mere

Institut for Matematik og Datalogi

  • Campusvej 55
  • Odense M - DK-5230
  • Telefon: +45 6550 2387

Sidst opdateret: 22.09.2023