Skip to main content


The Department of Political Science and Public Management was established in 1996 and today also includes the Centre for Journalism, the Centre for Welfare State Research and the Center for War Studies.

The core research areas at the Centre for Journalism are: Comparative Journalism, Journalism Practice and its Effects, Political Communication, Media Language and Rhetoric and Media Organizations.

The PhD Programmes in Journalism Studies and Political Science are closely coordinated and jointly offer a broad range of PhD courses. Some of the courses are taught in cooperation with the Department of Political Science, Aarhus University. The centre’s long-time cooperation with the Amsterdam School of Communications Research (ASCoR) gives PhD students access to courses and seminars offered by the Netherlands School of Communications Research (NESCoR). The department’s membership of a variety of international organizations and scholarly communities also gives access to highly recognized PhD courses. Over the years, PhD students from the department have, for example, attended the University of Michigan ICPSR summer programme in quantitative methods and the courses in qualitative research methods offered by the CQRM – Maxwell School of Syracuse University.

The centre encourages its PhD students to publish in high-ranking international journals and to engage in international cooperation. In recent years, PhD students at the centre have published in journals such as Journalism, Journalism Studies, Journalism Practice, Political Communication, Journal of Communication, International Journal of Press/Politics, Party Politics and European Journal of Political Research; and PhD students have been engaged in research projects with scholars from, e.g., ASCoR, Indiana University, University of Antwerp, Mid-Sweden University and the University of Santiago. As part of their study programme, PhD students in Journalism Studies are expected to spend 3-6 months at a university abroad.

In recent years, both the centre and the department have developed into vibrant research milieus and managed to attract young academic staff from, e.g., the Netherlands, Germany, Palestine, China, Switzerland, Luxembourg and Sweden.

For further information on the Department of Political Science and Public Management please click here.

For further information please contact director of the PhD programme, Professor WSR Arjen van Dalen, Department of Political Science and Public Management, University of Southern Denmark, via e-mail:, or by telephone on +45 6550 4417.

For further information about vacant PhD positions, application procedures, admission requirements, etc., please consult the PhD School’s website: or the PhD School Secretariat.

Sidst opdateret: 11.05.2021