Skip to main content

The organisation

Research, teaching, communication and the transfer of knowledge at the University of Southern Denmark are grouped into five academic faculties:

The faculties are supported by:

  • The University Library of Southern Denmark, which provides relevant information for researchers, teachers and students at SDU. In addition to library services for SDU staff and students, the library also provides services for other interested external users, the business community and other libraries. Read more about the library's services.
  • Central Administration, which consists of all the administrative and service units that support the academic environments.

The Board of Governors is the supreme authority at the university and is responsible to the Minister for the activities and overall resources of the university. The Board looks after the university’s interests as an educational and research institution and establishes guidelines for its organisation, long-term future and development. The Board enters into development contracts with the Minister for Higher Education and Science. The Board appoints the Rector, and, on the recommendation of the Rector, also appoints the Pro-Rector and a University Director. The Board holds around four meetings per year.

Joint Board of Representatives  consists of 10 external members who, according to the Statutes, shall follow the university's activities and developments. The term of office is four years, with the possibility of one reappointment. The members of the Joint Board of Representatives are appointed in their personal capacity, and together they are to reflect the university’s users and customers and have insight into research, research-based education, management, organisation and finance, including the assessment of budgets and accounts. There must be members from the business community, educational and cultural institutions, and other public and private users and customers of the university.

SDU established the Joint Board of Representatives in 2018 after amendment of the University Act (LBK no. 172 of 27 February 2018). The amendments to the Act related to the role of the Board of Directors and the Chairman of the Board of Directors. The changes resulted in the creation of a Nomination Body and an Appointment Body. Following public notice, the Joint Board of Representatives appoints seven members to the Appointment Body, which appoints members of the Board of Direction on the recommendation of the Nomination Body. The Appointment Body and the Nomination Body shall ensure that the external members of the Board meet the requirements for their positions. See more in the Statutes §§ 9-11.

With the establishment of the Joint Board of Representatives, the Board of Representatives was disassembled. The Board of Representatives was established in 1998 in connection with the formation of the University of Southern Denmark.

Day-to-day management of the university is handled by the Rector within the framework established by the Board of Governors.

The Board of Governors, the Board of Representatives and the day-to-day management are supported by the Management Secretariat.

Last Updated 17.11.2023