Dear VIP/Academic Colleagues

Presentation of the list "The Academic Chairmen" – A list of candidates running for the election of an academic employee representative to the SDU board with Professor Jesper Wengel as candidate no. 1 and Professor Bo Nørregaard Jørgensen as candidate no. 2.

We, the five chairmen of the academic councils at SDU, have decided jointly to run for the election on the list named "The Academic Chairmen". In case of election our main objectives will be:

- 1. to ensure as much academic influence as possible for the employees in the decision-making by the board,
- 2. to ensure coherence in the work from the board via the University Council to the academic councils,
- 3. to ensure increased focus on the university's core activities teaching, research and innovation,
- 4. to improve working conditions of the academic employees to safeguard the future competitiveness of SDU.

Professor Jesper Wengel from Natural Science is chairman of the University Council elected by and among the five chairmen of the academic councils. The main task of The University Council is to advice the Vice-Chancellor and the management in all academic matters of importance to SDU. We, the five chairmen of the academic councils, meet regularly to discuss the academic challenges that SDU faces across all faculties. The mutual goal is to advance decision-making in the University Council and within the academic councils that enable continued academic development and progress at SDU.

The other four chairmen of the academic councils fully support Jesper Wengel as candidate no. 1. He has a substantial experience with teaching, research and innovation as well as a research manager. Election of him for the board will – via the University Council and the academic councils – ensure close contact with and anchoring in the academic settings on all faculties of SDU.

Best regards

Anne Scott Sørensen (Faculty of Humanities)

John Christensen (Business and Social Science)

Kaare Christensen (Faculty of Health Science)

Bo Nørregaard Jørgensen (Faculty of Engineering)

Jesper Wengel (Faculty of Science)