The Structure of the Study Programmes

All university programmes are structured in the same way: a 3-year undergraduate bachelor’s programme followed by a 2-year master’s programme.

But of course you will find exceptions:

  • 3 ½-year bachelor programmes in journalism and in engineering
  • 3 ½-year professional bachelor programmes
  • 6-year medicine programme (3-year bachelor programme and 3-year master programme)

You may graduate after 3 or 3½ years, but most students chose to continue in a master’s programme.

If for instance you wish to become a teacher in the upper secondary education programmes, a chiropractor, a doctor, a lawyer or a psychologist, you are required to have a master’s degree within the relevant subject area, e.g. Master of Arts, Master of Science, Master of Medicine, Master of Law, or Master of Psychology.

Find more information about the study structure and how to combine the bachelor's and master's programmes here.

The degrees are compared by means of ECTS.
European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) is a common European standard for the comparison and recognition of study programmes between different institutions and national education systems. ECTS facilitates the credit transfer to SDU of courses taken at other universities in Denmark or abroad.

ECTS is an expression of the total workload (lectures, preparation, coursework, exams etc.) of the individual courses. ECTS is not a measurement of the academic level or the level of complexity, but only of the workload.

60 ECTS correspond to a student's workload for an academic year which according to the European norm ranges from 1,500 to 1,800 hours. One credit generally corresponds to 25-30 hours of work. This means that a course of 5 ECTS corresponds to 125-150 hours of work and a course of 10 ECTS to 250-300 hours of work.

To give you the best possible experience, this site uses cookies  Read more about cookies

Accept cookies