Skip to main content

Programme structure

The first semester consists of four compulsory courses:

During the second semester, you can choose freely among all Master- and PhD-level courses offered by the Faculty of Science, across all subject areas, as long as you meet any academic prerequisites. Most of the courses have a weighting of 10 ECTS. By approval from the Study Board, you can also take courses offered by other faculties if they are relevant to the academic profile of the Physics programme.

During the second year, you will complete your own individual research-based Master Thesis project, which has a weighting of 60 ECTS.

The courses in the programme are taught entirely in English.

Recommended course of study


The structure of the Master's degree programme in Physics allows you to opt for a general profile or specialise in one of the following subject areas:

The specialisations should be considered as suggestions to give you a better overview of the elective courses that we offer, but you will not be required to stick to courses from just one specialisation.

Master's Thesis project

The Master's Thesis project on the Physics programme is a 60 ECTS individual research-based project.

You can take part in an existing research-based project developed by your supervisor, develop your own project according to your interests or work on a real-life project in collaboration with a company.

Throughout the entire project, you will be supervised by a professor who is an expert in the topic of your project. Most of our thesis students meet with their supervisors on a weekly basis to discuss questions arising and the progress of their projects.

Student counsellors Faculty of Science University of Southern Denmark

  • Campusvej 55
  • Odense M - DK-5230
  • Phone: +45 6550 4387

Last Updated 10.06.2021