Skip to main content

Esbjerg University Prize 2012 awarded to Malene Damsted

Connie Hedegaard, European Commissioner for Climate Action, presented the Esbjerg University Prize to two outstanding students at the award ceremony at the University of Southern Denmark Esbjerg on Friday November 9.

The recipients were Malene Damsted from the Department of Environmental and Business Economics at the University of Southern Denmark, campus Esbjerg, and Søren Heide Lambertsen from Aalborg University Esbjerg. Both are hardworking students and were each awarded DKK 25,000.

Malene Damsted is currently working on her PhD dissertation on consumer perceptions of physical risks. The project is partly financed by the Danish Safety Technology Authority ( and is aimed at improving the basis on which communication efforts are made towards consumers with the hope of reducing the number of accidents. The project is directly aimed at lifting competences in the region. 


Editing was completed: 20.11.2012