Skip to main content


Consumer Culture Theory

Consumer Culture Theory or, in short CCT, is the denomination of a certain approach to the study of consumers and consumption. This approach basically considers consumption and its involved behavioral choices and practices as social and cultural phenomena – as opposed to psychological or purely economic phenomena.

Beyond denoting a family of theories, CCT also refers  to an informal group of researchers who to some degree identifies with the cultural approach to the study of consumption and consumers. Thus, CCT also can be said to mean Consumer Culture Theorists. Most, but not all the people in this informal group of researchers are employed at business schools, and they can be found on all continents (possibly excluding Antarctis) but with most of its proponents in North America and Europe.

The CCT Conference has been held anually since 2006.

CCT and SDU: A Love Story

The Consumption, Culture and Commerce (CCC) group at SDU constitutes a mature environment in the CCT community. From the establishment of the Department of Marketing in 1987 cultural perspectives on markets and consumption was one of the two research pillars. From the early 1990s a smaller group of scholars fostered relations to the emergent international community of interpretive scholars. In 2002 the group now known as CCC was formed. From consisting of about five scholars at the time of its foundation, the unit now consist of about 20 dedicated CCT scholars of a range of cultural background from the doctoral to the professorial level.

SDU hosts several CCT dominant international educational programmes. We have three M.Sc. programmes around the themes of branding, globalization and culture with about 100 students of which half are international students. The group has responsibility for two bachelor programmes, one in business economics with a profile in consumer behaviour and branding, and the Market and Management Anthropology Programme. The programmes and the large number of students in them, complements the research strengths of CCT in Odense by ensuring a solid and broad impact among future decision makers internationally.

Over the years many CCT scholars have been to visit the Odense group for shorter or longer periods of time, most notably in our longstanding doctoral seminar “Consumption Theory: a Canon of Classics” either as students or as teaching faculty. However, to mark the remarkable growth of CCT as a field we would like even more scholars to experience the Odense world of CCT. We are therefore thrilled to be able to welcome the CCT community to Odense in the summer of 2018.

Conference Co-Chairs

  • Domen Bajde, University of Southern Denmark
  • Dannie Kjeldgaard, University of Southern Denmark

Program & Outreach Committee

  • Eric Arnould, Aalto University
  • Zeynep Arsel, Concordia University
  • Matthias Bode, Royal University for Women, Bahrain
  • Samuel K. Bonsu, Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration
  • Stefania Borghini, Bocconi University
  • Robin Canniford, University of Melbourne
  • Julien Cayla, Nanyang Technological University / Kedge Business School
  • Franck Cochoy, Université Toulouse Jean Jaurès
  • David K. Crockett, University of South Carolina
  • Giana Eckhardt, Royal Holloway, University of London
  • Karen V. Fernandez, University of Auckland Business School
  • Bernardo Figueiredo, RMIT University-Melbourne
  • James Fitchett, University of Leicester
  • Markus Giesler, Schulich School of Business, York University
  • Johan Hagberg, University of Gothenburg
  • Benoît Heilbrunn, ESCP Europe
  • Eminegül Karababa, Middle Eastern Technical University
  • Pauline MacLaran, Royal Holloway, University of London
  • Jeff Murray, University of Arkansas
  • Cele Otnes, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • Jacob Östberg, Stockholm University
  • Nil Özçaglar-Toulouse, University of Lille 2
  • Diego Rinallo, Kedge Business School
  • Daiane Scaraboto, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
  • Avi Shankar, University of Bath
  • Rohit Varman, Deakin University
  • Frederick Wherry, Princeton University
  • Richard Wilk, Indiana University

Last Updated 18.09.2017