The Gender Equality Committee

The Faculty of Business and Social Sciences at the University of Southern Denmark wants to attract and retain the top of the talent pool as scientific and administrative staff members. This is ensured, in part, by continuing our focused work to ensure equal opportunities and conditions for men and women at the Faculty.

As it is now, the gender distribution is not consistent with the surrounding society. In 2016, only about every fifth Assistant Professor, Postdoc, Associate Professor and Professor at the Faculty of Business and Social Sciences was a woman. With this state of things, we risk losing talent who otherwise could have helped develop the Faculty's renowned research environments even further.

The Faculty of Business and Social Sciences at the University of Southern Denmark has therefore set up an equal opportunities committee to examine where gender barriers exist. The Committee will consider management, recruitment, staff retention, career development, work environment, and raising awareness. The Committee can propose motivational initiatives, that the Faculty and its individual units can initiate in order to create a better balance in the gender distribution.

The Gender Equality Committee mainly focuses on gender equality, but can also focus on more general diversity issues. The ultimate goal is to increase the proportion of women in scientific positions with one percentage point per year, which is in line with the University's development contract with the Ministry of Higher Education and Science.


Members of the Gender Equality Committee

The Gender Equality Committee is set up by the Dean of the Faculty of Business and Social Sciences, Nikolaj Malchow-Møller, who is also Chairman. In addition to the Chairman, the Committee consists of eight members – one from each department and two from the Service Centre. The Gender Equality Committee strives to have an equal number of men and women who, at the same time, have relevant insight in the field.

Members of the Gender Equality Committee are elected for two-year periods. They act as ambassadors for the gender equality work and must therefore bring the issue into focus in the contexts they participate in.


Nikolaj Malchow-Møller

Dean, Chairman of the Gender Equality Committee

Gry Høngsmark Knudsen

Department of Marketing and Management

Lars Kjærgård Terkilsen

Department of Law

Mads Bruun Ingstrup

Department of Entrepreneurship and Relationship Mangement

Martin Lindhardt

Department of Sociology, Environmental and Business Economics

Michael Håhr Larsen

SFEO - IT Operations and Development


Melike Wulfgramm

Department of Political Science and Public Management

Trine Kjær

Department of Business and Economics

Trine Tybjerg Holm

Professional Development and Executive Education

Anne de Place

Dean's Office - Faculty of Business and Social Sciences



Terms of Reference for the Gender Equality Committee

To give you the best possible experience, this site uses cookies  Read more about cookies

Accept cookies