Congratulations! Congratulations! Congratulations! 3 awards handed out at NAT.

Annette Bauer-Brandl from FKF received this year's Innovation Award. The Research Coomunication Award was awarded to Mads Toudal Frandsen from FKF, and David Kyed from IMADA is “Teacher of The Year”. Read more about the recipients and see how the Dean surprised David Kyed.

David Kyed is Teacher of The Year at the Faculty

David Kyed was nominated by IMADA students, emphasizing David’s great professional overview, well-structured courses, his thoroughness and the fact that he is well prepared for his lectures. They also appreciate that David takes the students' questions seriously, and that he gives concrete answers. In the recommendation, David is praised for his academic insight, presence, humor and great commitment. He has a talent for making mathematics, as abstract as it might be, both exciting, accessible and interesting.

The recipient of the Faculty Innovation Award is Annette Bauer-Brandl

From the motivation:

In 2013, Professor Annette Bauer-Brandl, together with Assistant Professor Massimiliano di Cagno, invented an artificial intestinal barrier that can predict how both well-known and new drugs will be absorbed by the intestine. This information makes it possible to predict whether drugs are adequately absorbed by the intestine so that they can be dosed in the form of tablets and capsules. The invention will make it possible to reduce or completely avoid animal testing when new drugs are to be used and formulated. It is with great enthusiasm that FKF recommends Annette Bauer-Brandl to the Innovation Award 2018 for working with a basic idea about transporting drugs through membranes and taking it all the way from idea to finished product. Annette's work strongly emphasizes the importance and usefulness of research in technological pharmacy.

Annette Bauer-Brandl, what does it mean for you to receive the award?

I am excited to be at the forefront of the entire pharmacy section. I appreciate that we are now recognized for our sustainable research after we have been best known for our efforts in establishing the Pharmacy study programme. It appears that our thematic research focus (Editor's note: Drug Transport & Delivery) assures us a leading position in the scientific community. It has also been exciting to enter into partnerships with the industry and we have received very good support from SDU RIO. All of this will now be visible at the Faculty.

The recipient of the Faculty's Research Communication Award is Mads Toudal Frandsen

From the motivation:

Associate Professor Mads Toudal Frandsen is an excellent researcher in particle physics. He is concerned with the great unresolved puzzles of physics, such as the detection of dark matter in the universe and the question of whether known elementary particles are the fundamental building blocks of the universe or not. This is a research area that is difficult to convey to the general public - especially young people. Mads is very aware of this, and he is passionate and able to convey his knowledge in a comprehensible way. Mads' broad dissemination of physics has played a major role in bringing physics (including physical educations at SDU) into public awareness and it has contributed to the relatively high progress in student interest for the education. With only 5 years of employment as an Associate Professor at SDU, Mads has really made a difference, and he deserves SDU's Research Communication Award.

Mads Toudal Frandsen, what does it mean for you to receive the award?

I take it as a big pat on the shoulder to the programme “Inspire Educate Innovate”, run by Claudia Hagedorn from CP3, Allan Haurballe Madsen from the Faculty Administration and myself. We have succeeded in attracting world experts to give lectures to both our own students and hundreds of high school students. In relation to basic research we have been visited by Nobel Prize winner in Physics Samuel Ting and in relation to advanced industry we hosted a lecture by the former NASA space captain and current Boeing space developer, Chris Ferguson. The award also gives me motivation to continue the work with the integrated dissemination initiatives we are currently developing at primary school level in cooperation with Ungdomsskolen in Odense and at high school level with Mulernes Legatskole and the talent programme for high schools in Odense. It is my hope that we, together with for example LSUL and Quantum Rascals, can contribute to making our region a powerhouse for science education and thus also research.”

Each award includes DKK 25,000 for the development of teaching or research.

The three NAT award recipients have been nominated for the corresponding awards from SDU, which will be awarded at the Annual University Celebration later this year.

To give you the best possible experience, this site uses cookies Read more about cookies

Accept cookies