Skip to main content

Equality Committee

The Equality Committee at the Faculty of Science is a committee appointed by the Executive Board of the university.

The committee holds at least two meetings per year and draws up an annual equality report featuring relevant statistics on the gender distribution in assessment committees, faculty committees, employments and retirements, applicants etc.



Trine Cohrt

Gender Equality Strategy

 The background for the Gender Equality Strategy is the uneven gender distribution at the Associate Professor and Professor levels in comparison with the more balanced gender distribution among undergraduate, graduate and PhD students.

The overall vision for work on gender equality at the Faculty of Science is to ensure equal opportunities and equal conditions for women and men among the Faculty's academic staff.

The Gender Equality Strategy for the period 2019-2021 consists of four themes:

Aim: Equal conditions and equal treatment in the appointment of scientific staff.


  • Achieve a more systematic process in relation to recruitment and selection:
    • Review and revision of recruitment procedure.
    • Involvement of SDU-GET.

Special areas of focus:

  • Vacancy advertisements
    • How are they decided?
    • How are they formulated?
    • Who sees/approves them?
  • Avoiding unintentional distribution/unconscious bias in assessments and job interviews
    • Establishment and supervision of assessment and employment committees.
    • Systematic criteria and checklists.

Responsible: The Faculty's Gender Equality Committee and the heads of the Faculty's departments

Aim: Transparency and clarity regarding career opportunities


  • Career/expectations matrix.
    • The Faculty will investigate different models in order to create a career/expectations matrix, and decide on how to implement this.
    • The career/expectations matrix can vary between departments.
  • How to ensure career advancement approaches.
    • Visibility and availability regarding opportunities and career advancement approaches should be ensured during the individual's career.
    • Follow the sections' work on career advancement approaches.
  • "Academic dubject specialist" mentoring and management is a key element of career planning.
    • The heads of the Faculty's departments have responsibility for promoting a career advancement/clarification dialogue in their layer of management.
    • Management creates the framework for academic subject specialist mentoring.

Responsible: The Faculty's Gender Equality Committee and the heads of the Faculty's departments

Aim: All levels of management at the Faculty are aware of the gender equality theme, and the Faculty's management group takes the lead for work on gender equality at the Faculty.


  • Management should have representation on the Gender Equality Committee.
    • The Gender Equality Committee at the Faculty of Science includes at least one member of the Faculty's management.
  • At least once a year, a theme meeting is to be held between the Faculty's Equality Committee, management, SDU-GET and other relevant participants. 

Responsible: The Faculty's Genter Equality Committee, the heads of the Faculty's departments and the Dean.

Aim: All of the Faculty's sections have an integrating work environment that takes into consideration work-life balance.


  • The Faculty will follow the work and development in the sections with particular focus on work-life balance..

Responsible: The Faculty's Gender Equality Committee and the heads of the Faculty's departments


Meeting minutes are available on SDUnet.

Women's Network

Once a year, all female assistant, associate and full professor across all departments at the Faculty of Science are invited to an informal lunch meeting without any agenda. Here, everything can be discussed,  from equality issues to applications for funding.

Faculty of Science University of Southern Denmark

  • Campusvej 55
  • Odense M - DK-5230
  • Phone: +45 6550 2099

Last Updated 05.07.2021