Skip to main content

The Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters admits DIAS Director as member

DIAS Director Marianne Holmer enters an unique organisation with an agelong tradition and former members such as Niels Bohr, H. C. Ørsted, Marie Curie, Albert Einstein and Charles Darwin.

Not only does the new members enter the classical building with high ceilings on H. C. Andersen’s Boulevard in the center of Copenhagen. They also enters a part of history which holds prominent names such as Marie Curie, Charles Darwin, and Niels Bohr.

Just as the other new members this year, Marianne Holmer also holds a background in the natural sciences. Today she is Dean of Science Faculty, and Director for Danish Institute for Advanced Study – DIAS.

The members has the opportunity to widen their horizons and network in the interdisciplinary spectrum which is quite versatile with representatives from the humanities and social sciences.

A society with a yearlong tradition

The society began its history on November 13th 1742 on the initiative of Historian Hans Gram and Earl Johans Ludvig Holstein. It has Her Majesty Queen Margrethe of Denmark as its patroness. Today it holds 500 members, half of them from Denmark.

Since 1866 the society has divided their members in two “classes”. One for humanities and social sciences, and one for natural sciences. Every year a handful of eminent researchers are elected to enter The Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters, and this year it is the natural sciences.

Even though the members are divided in two classes, one of the powerful outcomes for the members is the interdisciplinary inspiration and exchange of knowledge. A defining cause in the society: The aim to further the conditions for science and research in Denmark, and the initiative to lift this task in union.

Normally the election happens in the spring, but was postponed due to COVID-19. Therefore the new members was appointed on September 24th; nine from Denmark and six from other countries.

See the complete list of new members and read more about the organisation here (Danish). Read more about the organisation in English here and about its history here.

Picture: copyright to Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters
Redaktionen afsluttet: 11.10.2020