About The University

Ingeniøruddannelserne på SDU. Fotograf Mette Krull

The University of Southern Denmark in Odense opened for students in 1966 and have since then developed into having five faculties with more than 30,000 students, almost 20% of whom are from abroad, 224 different study programmes in the fields of the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences and engineering, more than 4,000 employees and campuses in five towns in the southern region of Denmark.

The Faculty of Engineering

The Faculty of Engineering at SDU educates highly skilled engineers and conducts research of high level in Engineering. The Faculty’s activities take place in the cities of Sønderborg, Kolding and Odense. The senior management of the Faculty consists of Dean Henrik Bindslev and Director of Studies Henning Andersen.
The Faculty’s more than 3000 students, which include 550 international students, are enrolled on 11 Bachelor of Engineering, 10 Master of Science in Engineering and 4 Master of Science degree programmes. Add to this more than 100 PhD students. Over the period of the last few years the Faculty has succeeded in doubling the enrolment of students. All students study in accordance with our problem and project based education model.
The Faculty comprises the following four departments: Mads Clausen Institute, Department of Chemical Engineering, Biotechnology and Environmental Technology, The Maersk Mc-Kinney Moller Institute, and Department of Technology and Innovation. The Faculty of Engineering has a strong focus on education, innovation and collaboration with industry in addition to research of the highest international standard. Some of the research areas we focus on are drone technology, welfare technology, energy technology, production technology, robotics, chemical engineering and biotechnology.


To give you the best possible experience, this site uses cookies  Read more about cookies

Accept cookies